Lord Narayana describes the inner meaning and procedures of the Gayatri Manta to Sage  Narada.

The Gayatri mantra is from the Rig Veda.

The Gāyatrī Mantra, also known as the Sāvitrī mantra, is a highly revered mantra from the Rig Veda (Mandala 3.62.10)

Narayana explains Gayatri from Yajur, Sama and Atharva Vedas.

I am providing the Armor of the Gayatri Mantra.

This forms the Nyasa.

Gayatri Mata. Jpg
Goddess Gayatri.

This is the Kavacha one has before chanting the Gayatri Mantra.

Now hear the Risis, Chhandas, etc., of this Kavacha :–

Brahmâ, Visnu and Mahes’vara are the Risis;

the Rik, Yajus, Sâma and Atharva Vedas are the Chhandas;

the Paramâ Kalâ Gâyatrî of the nature of Brahmâ is the Devatâ;

“Tat” in Gâyatrî is the Vîja; “Bharga” is the S’akti; and “Dhîyah” is the Kîlaka; and its viniyoga (application) is in getting the Moksa (liberation.).

With the first four syllables touch the heart; with the next three letters touch the head;

with the next four letters touch the tuft on the crown of the head; with the next three

letters on the Kavacha; with the next four letters on the eyes and with the last four letters

make the Nyâsa, all over the body repeating “Astrâya Phat,” O Nârada! Hear now the

Dhyânam of Gâyatrî, that grants all desires.

The Gâyatrî Devî has five faces; one of which is of white colour; and the other four is of pearl, Vidruma, golden, and Nîlakântamani colour respectively.

Each face has got three eyes; on the head there is a crown of jewels and the digit of the Moon is shining there. Her body is composed of the twenty-four tattvas.

She has ten hands :– On the top right and left hands there are two lotuses; lower down, there are disc and conch shell; lower down, there are rope and skull; lower down, there are noose and goad; and on the bottom hands right and left she is making signs of “No fear” and “ready to grant boons.”

Thus meditating on S’rî Gâyatrî, one is to recite the Kavacha thus :–

Let the Gâyatrî Devî protect my front; Sâvitrî Devî protect my right;

the Sandhyâ Devî, my back and

the Devî Sarasvatî, my left.

Let my Mother Pârvatî Devî protect my quarters.

Let Jalas’âyinî protect the southeast;

Yâtudhâna Bhayankarî protect my South-west;

Pavamânavilâsinî my north-west;

Rudrarûpinî Rudrânî protect my north-east.

Let Brahmânî protect my top and

Vaisnavî protect my nether regions

. Let the word “Tat” in the Gâyatrî protect my legs;

“Savituh” protect my Knees;

“Varenyam,” protect my loins;

“Bhargah,” my navel.

Let “Devasya” protect my heart;

“Dhîmahî” protect my neck;

“Dhîyah,” protect my eyes;

“Yah,” protect my forehead;

“Nah” protect my head; and

“Prachodayât” protect the tuft on the crown of my head.

Again let the “Tat” of the twenty-four syllabled Gâyatrî protect my head;

“Sa,” protect my forehead;

“Vi” protect my eyes;

“Tu” my cheeks;

“Va,” protect my nostrils;

“Re,” my mouth;

“ni” protect my upper lip;

“Yah” protect my lower lip;

“Bha” within my face;

“rgo,” protect my cheeks;

“De,” my throat; “Va” my shoulders;

“Sya” my right hand;

“Dhi” my navel;

“ma,” my heart,

“Hi,” my belly;

“Dhî,” my navel;

“Yo” my loins;

“Yo”, my anus;

“nah,” my thighs,

“Pra,” my Knees;

“Cho” my shanks ,

“Da” my heels;

“Yâ” my legs;

and let “at” protect all my sides.

O Nârada! This divine Kavacha of the Devî Gâyatrî can baffle hundreds and thousands of obstructions and evils; can grant sixty-four Kalâs and liberation. By the glory of this Kavacha, man can become free from all evils and can attain the state of Brahmâ. Moreover whoever reads or hears this acquires the fruits of making a gift of a thousand cows.

( Devi Bhaavatham,Book 12,Chapter 3, Slokas  to 25)

Source.

Devi Bhagavatham

3 responses to “Gayatri Kavacha Nyasa Details How To Chant Lord Narayana”

  1. Krishna Ayilavarapu Avatar
    Krishna Ayilavarapu

    sir,
    I am thankful to you for explaining about the Gayatri Mantra. On my close scrutiny of Vedas in Veda Samhita I found only the later part of the Mantra starting from “Tat Savit Varenyam…..” appears under 3.62.10 of Rigveda. The full form starting from ” Om Bhhorbhuvah Swah” appears in Yajurveda under 3.36.3.

    The Devatha mentioned under both the Rik and Yajush as Savituh or Savit. A close study of other texts reveal Savit or Savituh (grammatical variation) is a form of Agni or Sun which gives enlightment. It was also mentioned that the name Gayatri as one of the 26 Chandas which are divided into 4 groups of which Gayatri Chandha belongs to second group. This mantra being in Gayatri Chandas, it is famed as Gayatri Mantra. But the Devatha name is Savit. There was no mention of Gayatri Devatha or Devi in the Vedas. More so it was mentioned that Gayatri chandas is used for mantras used for praying Agni.
    An analysis done by various scholars say this Rik or Yasjush is for Sun God or Agni which gives Tejassh for human beings if the meaning is taken in physical sense. If the meaning is taken in philosophical way (aadhyatma) it is a mantra for the Supreme Parameshwar, since He is the person who has self glowing and enlighten and all other Suns etc derive their light from Him so do humans also.
    By the way the groups Rik, Yajush,Sama are mentioned as three types of Mantras available in the Four Vedas and not as chandhas. The chandhas they have mentioned mainly as 26 (with different variations many chandas available in Vedas). The puranas which have come at a very far far later stage might have used this Mantra for a different Goddess or Devatha.

    Like

  2. Dear Sir/Madam, I am not receiving posts from 2nd of this month, Kindly send me continousely. Thanks. Vidhyasagar.

    Like

    1. Please click the follow Button in the site and you will receive the posts.Thank you for following.

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Trending