Reply To Abusive Comments on Castes in Islam Post


I have received a lot of criticism for this Post.

List Of 308 Castes In Islam Indian Muslims

I have approved those which have not used abusive language.I am posting some of the comments below.

One says that I have just provided the information from other sources ‘this article of mine is a poor one , I do not even proof read properly, I have not provided references  from other sources(while one says I have provided information from other sources!), I hate Islam, and I do not have Intellectual honesty.

A very poorly written article. Let alone research or referencing, you haven’t even proofread it. There are many duplicate entries. You seem to confuse cultural groups and lineage with castes. Caste is characterised by hereditary occupations and intermingling, among other characteristics. The image at the start lists out different belief systems within Islam; it is not indicative of social/cultural classes or groups, but theological differences amongst Muslims. Most importantly, there is no sanction for castes in Quran/Hadith unlike other religion’s authoritative and definitve texts.

What you’ve compiled (or, just posted perhaps) and passed off as castes, is in fact –
– a repetitive list; Syed, Sayyid, Sayyed, etc. are merely different spellings. What’s with Pathans of X area and Pathans of Y area? This differentiation is hardly ever identified in reality.
– a list of lineages, i.e. – Syed, for instance, implies that they descend from Ali, the Prophet’s cousin and Pathans are those people whose ancestors were from Af-Pak.
– cultural backgrounds; Konkani, Dakhani (of Deccan), Goan, Gujarati, etc. are not castes. These are cultures, not castes.

All those you’ve listed, will and do, stand shoulder to shoulder in the same mosque and pray to the same God and believe in the same things, with some variations in practice and theory. At the most, there may be about 10-15 different groups that wouldn’t share mosques due to major differences in beliefs, and not social status.

For starters, eliminate the duplicate entries. Check ‘Faqir’, for instance – it appears as the 101st, 189th and 264th ‘caste’, besides a couple of entries without numbers. You’d be surprised to know that anybody can be a ‘faqir’ – it’s a way of life wherein one takes an oath to give up material life. Somewhat like sanyaas.
‘Sayyid’, with the same spelling and no variations, appears at 181, 76 and 33 positions. Then, it appears as ‘Sayyid of Gujarat’ as well.’

As I have said in ‘About, , I am not a professional writer and my job is to provide information and leave the reader to judge.

I have also said that at times I do not even proof read and I have requested people to point out my mistakes.On this count I plead guilty and shall try to improve.

I am aware that there are cultural groups mentioned here under Caste.

My question is would people from one group marry from one with another,?

I know from my Muslim friends in Tamil Nadu, that they do not.

“The image at the start lists out different belief systems within Islam; it is not indicative of social/cultural classes or groups, but theological differences amongst Muslims. Most importantly, there is no sanction for castes in Quran/Hadith unlike other religion’s authoritative and definitve texts”

Islam Unified?

What about Shias and Sunnis and other groups?

Some of them do not even stand the sight of another and kill each other.

Let me mention in the passing that one of my closest friends is a Muslim.

Please read my post Where Are These Muslims?

I am aware that there are e duplicate entries.

I have been waiting for Islamic scholar to correct them and I am yet to find a reader who would.

As to Pathans X and Pathans Y, they seem to identify themselves as such.

The fact is that despite saying Islam is One Religion, One Ummah, Indian, Pakistani and Bangladeshi Muslims are treated as inferior in Islamic countries,Dubai and Abu Dhabi.

Where is the concept of One Religion based on Equality?

Yes , I am providing information  from other sources as I am not the original author in some areas and in such cases I provide information from other sources and give credit to these authors as Sources or Citations.

And I provide my views on the subject

This is a normal practice in a  researched article.

‘At the most, there may be about 10-15 different groups that wouldn’t share mosques due to major differences in beliefs, and not social status.”

Exactly what I am trying to convey.

Whether it is 15 or hundred it not ONE as touted.

And I have not talked about Shia Sunni divide here.

You may read about this in the Link below.

https://ramanan50.wordpress.com/2013/08/08/bahrain-shia-sunni-violence-simmers-to-erupt/

What I am trying to convey is that Islam is not what it is purported to be..Caste-less..

Another comment.

‘Sheer ignorance.. You would have consulted some muslim on the validity of what you are putting. You have every right to love or hate Islam but dont be intellectually dishonest.If 2 diff courts give 2 diff judgements,doesnt mean we have 2 constitutions. Same is wd sch of law.Its just 2 interpretations. Your classification fails at Level 1,

If my statements are not valid and do not pass Level 1, may people correct these with facts.

And I am yet to find any corrections !

Excepting abusing me and ascribing motives.

What is being offered as a correction, only confirms my Post!

As to Intellectual dishonesty, I do not proclaim what I am not.

And try to justify it.

10 thoughts on “Reply To Abusive Comments on Castes in Islam Post

    • I have one comment of yours on (Pitru Dosha) to be approved (other than this one).I will be replying that by tonight or tomorrow.Apart from this there is no other comment pending

      Like

  1. jaisingh01 says:

    Hi Ramani once you sent article some places in ajmer which was hindu temples converted into muslim place could you tell me name of these places!!!Coz i am going to visit ajmer soon!!!

    Like

  2. Subramanyam sriram says:

    There was a sociological study in the State of AP on the stratification of Muslims and an acknowledgement of such castes in Islam who were found to be backward classes for the purposes of reservations and a legislation is made by the legislature for providing reservations to Muslims. They left out forward castes such as Syeds and Pathans.

    The matter is now in Supreme Court. All the information about P S krishnans report on castes in Islam on the basis of which such reservations were granted are in public domain.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. VISWARUPA VALLABURIA says:

    Caste is a misnomer in INDIA. Those who want to analyse Indian History should read CENSUS IN INDIA FROM 1800AD TO 1920AD. British came to the conclusion that CASTE as understood in EUROPE is completely absent in INDIA. On the other hand Communities performed certain vocations and fall within the definition. During successive census British found that many communities tend to rise to the higher layer relying on their mytholgies.Unfortunately the current INTELLECTUAL S don’t know the Social Hierarchy where VETARIANISM/TEETOTALISM/REMARRIAGE IF WIDOWS/ADHERENCE TO BRAHMINIC RITUALS ALONET WERE THE HALLMARK. That is why throughout India Kayasthas though classified as SUDRAS rank next only to BRAHMINS on par with Vaishyas and in some areas more than VAISHYAS. Those who want to defend HINDUISM never stress this issue but hoping on TIRUMULAR/ADVAITHA/GEETHA which are all for enlightened soul. Family Occupation is sheer necessity since even BRAHMINS shun Veda Patashalas and learn only from Family members since they have the fear that it would be twisted.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Vassudevanr says:

    Islam is always fanatical. That is cursed religion. These intolerant idiots are sermonizing us on tolerance. We have number of Ambis ,Jeychandrans , and Ettappans to take up their cause. I am with you, Sir

    Regards

    R.Vassudevan Krishnas Fittings

    >

    Liked by 1 person

  5. RK Murti says:

    Yes there are errors, but the basic fact is the claim of one religion with no discrimination within the religion itself is suspect. Using derogatory language without providing explanatory / research notes, only strengthens the core issues of the article.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

