Three Levels Of Speech Gayathri Savitri Sarasvati


There is a debate on the difference between the Gayatri and Savitri Mantras.


The Gayatri, the Supreme Mantra of the Vedas is to be intoned, not to be learnt by writing.


“Gayathethi Gayathri, Gayathri is ‘That which is intoned.


“Among the Mantras I am The Gayatri’ Bhagavad Gita.


There is no hymn superior than Gayatri Mantra, ‘na gaayatriyaah paramam japam’ .


Now in the Gayatri Mantra we have the mention of Gayatri,Savitri and Sarasvati.


“In invoking Gayatri and praying to be present, we say,


Gayathrrem Aavaahayami,


Savitreem Aavahayaami,


Sarasvatheem Aavahayaami’





Gayatri .Image Credit ,
Gayatri Matha

There are three levels of Speech.


First when we think.


If one analyses , when one thinks, he/she would find an echo in the mind, some times quite loud, this is especially so in the case of those who perform Japa, and Devi Upasana.


This applies to our day-to-day thoughts as well.


The implication is that the Universal Sabda, Sound, is being brought forth into individual level and the

One who makes it possible is Gayatri.


This is level One.


The next is as soon as the thoughts are formed,it sits as it were, in the spot just beneath the tongue.


The words are not formed at the physical level and they lie dormant.


We have heard and we also know at times on seeing or while coming into contact with something which we think is new, we say,


‘I Know,it is at the tip of my tongue, it will come’


This is the place of Savitri” the unformed words, with the potential to become words.


This the level where the Speech Impaired people’s impediment lies.


Savitri does not synchronize with Sarasvati.


The third and final level is that of Sarasvati.


This is where the thoughts get transformed into words.


Sarasvati ,in synchronization with Gayatri through Savitri expresses in the form of words.


‘Srimad Vaakbhavakooda Swarooopini’ the confluence Words and its Happening.Lalitha Sahasranaama.


These are the three levels of Speech.


One should always remember the Gayatri is  a Chandas,Meters primarily and there are many Mantras in this





Gayathri Mantra is both Mantra and Chandas.


This Mantra has other significance in terms of Mantra and Tantra Shastra and I hope to write on it.


Related information.


Each of three is called sthula (material) form. Three separate forms are grouped as Vyasti. There is also a combined form and that is called Samasti.

(Vishvamitra is the Seer for Gayatri hymn. He is the same Sage to impart ‘bala atibala’ hymns to Lord Rama and Lakshmana.This ‘bala atibala’ mantra is also called as Savitri Mantra and this is available in Savitri Upanishad, Verse 4.This hymn is yet another aspect of Gayatri,)

There is no hymn superior than Gayatri Mantra, ‘na gaayatriyaah paramam japam’

Gayatri Forms:

1) Morning Gayatri Dhyanam:

‘balarkaruna shona patala mukaih yuktam kumarim giram
Pratarlokita vigraham bhuvigatam saukatmikam rajaseem
vibhranamabhayam kamandalumathambhojaksha malam sruvam
kayatrim hrudi hamsanam bhavakarim sri brahmarupam bhaje’

Morning time Gayatri dwells in Surya mandalam. She is having red colour. She is young and having rajoguna. Her vahana is swan and having Brahma amsam. She represents Rig Veda. She is having (in Three hands) kamandalu, lotus and japamala. The fourth hand shows abhaya mudra. She is called Gayatri. (She has four heads).

Alternate Dhyanam:

‘pratar dhyayami gayatrim, ravimandala-madhyagam
rg-vedam uccarayantim raktavarnam kumarikam
akshamalakaram brahmadevatyam hamsavahanam’

2) Noon Savitri Dhyanam:

‘mukta pandura hemadhusara sitasyam trishanam vyomagam
madhyanhe sitavikraham suyuvatim satyatmikam tamaseem
khatvankgapaya sulakani dadhateem rudraksha malaamumam
savitrim vrushavahanam kshapakarim sri rudrarupam bhaje’

Midday she dwells in Surya mandalam having white colour and tamoguna. She is having (in three hands) Trident. Cot-leg, rudraksha mala and the fourth hand is in abhaya mudra. She is a middle aged and her vahana is bull. Also she is having three eyes (on all the Five heads).She represents Yajur Veda and takes the Rudra rupini (Rudra amsam). She is called as Savitri in noon.

Alternate Dhyanam:

‘madhyandine tu savitrim ravimandalamadhyagam
yajur-vedam vyaharantim svetam sulakaram sivam
yuvatim rudradevatyam dhyayami vrshavahanam’

3) Evening Saraswati Dhyanam:

‘nilendevara mesakaika vadanam vrudhdasvarupam ramam
sayam shyamala vigraham dwigataam gnanatmikamsatvikim
sankam chakramathabhayancha tulasi malam karair bhiratim
tarkshyathmja saraswathim sthitikarim sri Vishnu rupaam bhaje’

Evening she is called Saraswati and dwells in Surya Mandalam. She has black colour and old aged. Her vahana is Garuda. She is having (in three hands) chakra, conch and Tulsi mala and the fourth hand is in abhaya mudra. Sha has gnana swarupam and is having satvaguna. She represents Sama Veda. She takes Vishnu amsam. (She has single head only)

Alternate Dhyanam:

‘sayam sarasvatim syamam ravimandalamdhyagam
sama-vedam vyaharantim cakrayudhadharam subham
dhyayami vishnudevatyam vrddham garudavahanam’

4) Samasti Rupa Gayatri Dhyanam:

The following Dhyana sloka is recited in all the three times by many.

‘Muktavidruma hema nila dhavala chhayirmukhayir streekshanayir
yuktamindu nibaddha ratna makutam tatvartha varnatmikam
Gayatrrem varadabhayam kuskasassubhramka palam gadam
sankham chakra dharavinda ugalam hastyirvahanteem bhaje’

Meditate on the Goddess Gaaytri with five heads, sitting in a pond on a red lotus flower. She wears a red sari and is beautiful. Her heads are pearl, coral, gold, blue, and white in color. Gaayatrii has three eyes and wears the cresant moon upon Her head. She has ten arms. She makes the mudra dispelling fear (abhaya mudra), and the mudra granting gifts (varada mudra), She holds a mace, a chakra, a conch, an ankusam, pasam, kapalam and two lotuses .

Devi Gayatri’s five faces are white like pearl; one is red like coral, second is yellow like gold, third is blue like neelam, fourth white like milk, and the fifth is of ‘trinetra’ or three eyed. We meditate Her gem studded headgear with half- moon like jewel on Her Head,

5) Reference, Book, Personal Collection:

Sri Santhya Vandanam, Srivatsa Somadeva Sarma, Vaideega Dharma Vardani Publication, Chennai, Year 1952, Pages 9 to 13, Total Pages 116+20.

6) Edited:

There are different gayatri metre based mantras for different gods.… )

The Gayatri Mantra appears in Rigveda 3.62.10 (Yajurveda Mantra 22.9, 30.2 & 36.3, Samaveda Mantra 1462). To distinguish this from others, this is ALSO called as Savitri Mantra as this contain the word Savitr.”




Related articles

Enhanced by Zemanta

5 thoughts on “Three Levels Of Speech Gayathri Savitri Sarasvati

  1. I think in the Bhagavat Gita, Sri Krishna actually says amongst all poetic metres (Chandhas) I am Gayatri. Not Mantras as mentioned above.


    1. This is a complicated subject, involving Gayatri worship and Shakti Upasna.Shall be posting a detailed post Am really surprised that some one really studies the Post and seek clarifications on intricate subject.That is the purpose of my blog.Regards


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s