Why Some Yogis are Reborn Yoga Sutra 1.19


YoGa Sutra 1.19
Yaga Sutra 1.19

After talking about the Types of Samadhi,Patanjali now goes deeper  into the difference between on who has attained Samadhi,and those who attain it for a flash or intermittently.

To understand this concept one has to understand the Five Sheaths of Atman, Self, which at the Apara or Trancendental level is called Brahman.

The Five sheaths are,

Annamaya Kosa, Of Food

Pranamaya Kosa, Of Vital Breath,

Manomaya Kosa, Of Mind,

Vigyanamaya Kosa, Of Intellect and

Anandamaya Kosa Of Bliss.

The Atman is covered , as it were, by these sheaths.

Brahman is beyond these.

One who attains Samadhi goes beyond these sheaths.

( Buddhism also has these layers, but the Reality, in Buddhism,in Sunya or Zero, Nihilism>

It also describes The Sthula Sareera( Gross Body) The Sooksma sareera(The Subtle Body)

Hinduism also describes Sthula Sareera and Sookshma Sareera.

The attachment to the Physical Body or identifying the Atman or self with the Body is called the’ Dehatma Buddhi’

However much one tries various Yogas, this Dehatma Buddhi is difficult to get rid of.

Even those who attain Samadhi for a brief period of Time or for some time continuously are not cured of this Dehatma Buddhi.

Only those who are totally immersed in Samadhi( they can also carry out day-to-day activities of the Physical world) are the true Yogins.

Others are those who are unable to leave the Dehatma Buddhi.

These people know the limitations of the Physical  World, know that they are still in the grip of Dehatma Buddhi; but they will be connected to the Sukshma Sareera and be one with nature or Prakriti.

They are called Prakitilayars, one who is in tune with Nature.

Being connected and rooted to Suksma Sareera, they can not get rid of the subtle impressions created by the Physical activities.

Hence, they have to face the consequences of their actions and they carry Vaasanas or the remnants of Impressions.

So they are caught in the web of Samsara, of Births and deaths

Real Yogic State is attained only when one leaves the impressions,Chitta Vruttis.

This is possible only when one performs actions without attachment, as Lord Krishna explains in The Bhagavad Gita.

This detachment is the prerequisite for Yoga Sadhana.

Attachment Levels in Yoga.
The Levels of Attachment.

I.19. bhava pratyayo videha prakṛtilayānāṁ

bhava = objective existence, becoming
• pratyayah = cause, cognitive principle, content of mind, cognition
• videha = bodiless, disembodied
• prakriti = creative cause, subtlest material cause, nature
• layanam = dissolved, merged into
When such impressions remain, one retains the possibility (and the cause) of birth, even
after being freed from the present body and after becoming integrated with one’s own or
the cosmic nature. For, such impressions or memories nurture and perpetuate the
awareness of continued personal existence.





One thought on “Why Some Yogis are Reborn Yoga Sutra 1.19

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s