ramanan50

Mahabharata, The Gita and Blog Posts

In Blogging, Hinduism on September 22, 2013 at 09:36

I have missed hardly a day from Posting a Blog since August 2009.

But I had not posted any Blog since 10th September. 2013 till this day.

I was busy in moving to our new Home in Bangalore and i had to attend a function in Chennai for a couple of days.

In fact the actual posting of blogs was on 7th September when I scheduled the posts.

Another curious reason is that smack in the city of Bangalore, Whitefield, which is emerging as a hub of its own with IT companies , quite busy,where Sai Baba’s Ashram is situated, none of the Internet Service Providers. be it BSNL,Airtel,Tata Docomo,Vodafone and others do not seem to know whether the area is serviced by them!

And I am uncomfortable with the Data Card as I am uncomfortable with its speed(?)

In the mean while, I received some emails asking me(  I browsed them in my  Mobile) as to what happened to my posts .

And a reader sent me an email asking me politely as to what happened to approving the comments ( I normally approve them as and when I receive the notification), expressing concern about my health.

I would like to thank all these queries and I am fine, health-wise as befits one of 63; in fact by the Grace of God, I have no ailments like BP, Sugar excepting that I had an Heart-attack in 2009.( That I ceased taking medicine for that because of my conviction that these medicines actually complicate the health, I have a post under this filed under ‘Health)

This short break provided me some extra time to catch up with my reading the Sanskrit  originals of the Mahabharata and The commentary of Adi Shankaracharya on the Bhagavad Gita.

Here I want to say that certain things/events in Life seem to have a purpose.

I have been performing Puja at Home at home, though not regularly,I do them when I fell like and at times like these I do for about 2 hours at a stretch; most of the days I do nor perform at all!

I recite Pancha Suktas, Rudra, Chamaka,Bhoomi Sukta, Neela Sukta, Medhini Sukta,Bhagya Sukta and my routine mantras from the Soundarya Lahari,Mooka Panchasati,Kandhar Anubhuthi and Abirami Andhadi.

As i firmly believe that there is no difference between Lord Siva and Vishnu,I do Pujas for both the deities.

I am a Smartha, who is expected to worship Lor Shiva.

My childhood friend of 50 years, who is staunch orthodox Vaishnava, gave me a the Nalayira Divya Prabhandham the Scared Book of the Vaishnavities of Tamil Nadu about four years back telling me that he had only only one copy of the rare book(compiled by Velukkudi Krishna Iyengar, father of Velukkudi Krishnan) and that he is giving this to me without knowing why!

I laughed it off and took the book.

While organizing  the Books in the process of shifting to the new house,i got hold of this Book and thought why should I not recite at least one chapter Day while doing Puja and started.

I also got hold of two books , The Mahabharata in original with commentaries in Tamil by Ramanujaachariar and Ganapathi Ganapadigal( the Purvasrama Guru of Kanchi Maha Periyavar and the commentary of Adi Shankaracharya  on the Bhagavad Gita.

These books were purchased by me in 2009 and I just glanced at them till now.

How and why I should these books appeal to me after all these years and why  I should decide to read them now , I am unable to explain.

As I read these in the originals in Sanskrit, I am literally moved into tears and ashamed at the same time.

Moved because of the realization that I belong to a Culture  where Human values and Philosophy are so rarefied beyond imagination.

Ashamed because I have failed to read these for nearly 40 years of Life!

I plan to post some interesting aspects from these to share the gems of Indian Thoughts and to dispel some of the misconceptions about Hinduism by the others and by the Hindus themselves on some Purana stories where they have and are being misinterpreted, misquoted and in some cases  have no basis in the Purana at all.

 

 

  1. hello there and thank you for your information – I’ve certainly picked up something new from right here. I did however expertise a few technical issues using this site, as I experienced to reload the web site a lot of times previous to I could get it to load properly. I had been wondering if your web hosting is OK? Not that I’m complaining, but slow loading instances times will often affect your placement in google and could damage your high-quality score if advertising and marketing with Adwords. Anyway I’m adding this RSS to my email and could look out for a lot more of your respective interesting content. Ensure that you update this again very soon.

    Like this

  2. Expecting more Sir. I was waiting for some tome as I was not seeing any post for the last one week or so. Yes, I agree with every word of your post. that we have not realized the true value of what we have. .
    Do also visit the posts on Kamban at http://ammanji.wordpress.com and post your comments.

    Like this

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,411 other followers

