ramanan50

My Dying Words

In lifestyle on June 26, 2013 at 18:26

Who is not afraid of death?

Those who reply in the negative are lying.

It is fear of Pain that might accompany death that is more disconcerting more than the fear of the Unknown.

Lord Byron on his death-bed

Lord Byron on his death-bed

Does my Life end here?

For that matter what is Life?

What have I done with/in my life?

have I loved some body?

If so, have I been found wanting in that?

Do I meet up with those whom  I have loved and who had departed before me?

Would i curse who have not helped me?

Would I get food?

Would people, especially my children, remember Me?

Is there a God?

Would He punish me?

Would I be reborn?

If so, would i be born as an animal to suffer?

Would I be wandering body-less in between my death and the time before i am reborn and where?

Would my philosophical musings help?

Shankaracharya says ‘No”

bhaja govindamsloka 1bhajagovindam bhajagovindamgovindam bhaja moodhamathesamprapte sannihite kaalenahi nahi rakshati dukrinkaranemeaning:bhaja – seek, govinda – the lord govinda, moodhamathe – o fool, o ignoramus, samprapte – (when) comes, sannihite – appointed, kaale – time, nahi – surely never,rakshati – saves, dukrinkarane – grammar rule.substance:seek or worship govinda, seek govinda, seek govinda, o fool or ignoramus. when the death comes at the appointed time, grammar rules will not save or rescue you”
Recently I read an article where they listed some dying words of the Common people.
The top one read ,
I wish I had lived the way I wanted rather than what others wanted me to live”
I here below furnish some Dying Words.
Voltaire famous anti-christian atheist: “I am abandoned by God and man; I will give you half of what I am worth if you will give me six months’ life.” (He said this to Dr. Fochin, who told him it could not be done.) “Then I shall die and go to hell!” (His nurse said: “For all the money in Europe I wouldn’t want to see another unbeliever die! All night long he cried for forgiveness.”wink

Robert Ingersoll: “O God, if there be a God, save my soul, if I have a soul!” (Some say it was this way: “Oh God, if there be a God, save my soul if I have a soul, from hell, if there be a hell!

David Hume, atheist philosopher famous for his philosophy of empiricism and skepticism of religion, he cried loud on his death-bed “I am in flames!” It is said his “desperation was a horrible scene”.

Napoleon Bonaparte, the French emperor, and who, like Adolf Hitler, brought death to millions to satisfy his greedy, power-mad, selfish ambitions for world conquest: “I die before my time, and my body will be given back to the earth. Such is the fate of him who has been called the great Napoleon. What an abyss between my deep misery and the eternal kingdom of Christ!”

Et tu Brute,Then Fall, Caesar” Julius Caesar
My favorite is from The God Father By Mario Puzo.
Don Corleone dies at his Home of a heart attack surrounded by his grand son and son Michael Corleone.
The Don opens his eyes and says,
“Life is Beautiful’
I wish I could say that as I die.

 

  1. Reblogged this on Cocktail of words and commented:
    Absolutely staggering.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,035 other followers

