If it was Morkel for Chennai Super Kings the other day when he smashed Virat Kohli for 28 runs in an over,now it is the turn of Ajinkya Rahane, to do it for the Rajasthan Royals which decimated Royal Challengers Bangalore in the IPL 2012 edition.

Superb yet controlled knock with Owais Shah providing the perfect foil.

By the way, I was confused rather shocked to see Rahul Dravid jumping with joy after his team won for I can not remember Dravid  cheering against Bangalore.

One gets confused as to who plays for which side.

I used to tag as’Sachin’s Side,Dravid’s side,Sehwag’s side’

Now only Dhoni, Gilchrist and Sehwag remain, Sachin leaving the captaincy to Harbhajan,Dravid moving over to Rajasthan.

I would have missed some names/Captains  in the list.!

Rahane produced a scintillating unbeaten 103 off just 60 balls and stitched a 121-run stand off 50 balls with Shah, who scored 60 off 29 balls, for the second wicket to propel Rajasthan to a mammoth 195 for 2 after Rahul Dravid won the toss and opted to bat at the R Chinnaswamy Stadium. Chasing a massive target proved too much for the star-studded RCB line-up as they were bowled out for 136.

“We were pretty satisfied with how we started but then Rahane and Shah really took the game away from us. We know we can come back from this. We need to get back to winning ways,” Vettori said after the demoralising 59-run loss.
His counterpart and winning skipper, Dravid, also praised Rahane and Shah for their brilliant show with the bat. “Shah and Rahane batted splendidly. Some of their shots were incredible and they played those shots against a side that has five international bowlers,” Dravid said.
Rahane, who scored his maiden IPL century, said that his knock was a “special” one. “That was a special knock from me and I would like to congratulate my team-mates for their performance as well,” he said. “I am playing along side my role model, Dravid, so I get to learn a lot of things from him. This is quite a long tournament, so I just need to keep my form going,” Rahane added.

http://cricketnext.in.com/live/news/rahane-shah-took-the-game-away-from-us/65132-13.html

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Trending