ramanan50

The Old American Many do not know, Incl. Americans

In US on April 4, 2012 at 19:48

Slave Trade ad

Read this with Romney’s Statement.

““I’m not concerned about the very poor. We have a safety net there. If it needs a repair, I’ll fix it. I’m not concerned about the very rich; they’re doing just fine,” 

http://emmageraln.com/

Refers to:

Mitt Romney - Caricature

Mitt Romney - Caricature (Photo credit: DonkeyHotey)

Former Massachusetts Gov. Mitt Romney said on Wednesday that he’s “not concerned about the very poor,” citing the social safety net in place for that segment of the populace and adding that he’s focused on the middle class.

“I’m in this race because I care about Americans. I’m not concerned about the very poor. We have a safety net there. If it needs repair, I’ll fix it,” the Republican front-runner said Wednesday on CNN, following hisvictory in the Florida primary. “I’m not concerned about the very rich, they’re doing just fine. I’m concerned about the very heart of the America, the 90 percent, 95 percent of Americans who right now are struggling.”

CNN’s Soledad O’Brien pressed him on his comments, adding that they may sound odd for Americans who are very poor.

“Well you had to finish the sentence, Soledad,” he replied. “I said ‘I’m not concerned about the very poor that have a safety net but if it has holes in it, I will repair them.’ The challenge right now — we will hear from the Democrat party the plight of the poor. And there’s no question it’s not good being poor and we have a safety net to help those that are very poor. But my campaign is focused on middle-income Americans.”

“We have a very ample safety net,” said Romney. “And we can talk about whether it needs to be strengthened or whether there are holes in it. But we have food stamps, we have Medicaid, we have housing vouchers, we have programs to help the poor.”

http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2012/02/01/mitt-romney-very-poor_n_1246557.html

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,872 other followers

