ramanan50

Of Spirit,Brain and Consciousness.

In Indian Philosophy, Philosophy on April 2, 2012 at 08:31

I read an interesting article and I am quoting that with my comments.

Nicely expressed abstract thoughts.
I may add a few lines.
When one is able to observe what one thinks, it is obvious that the perceived is different from the perceiver.
One becomes a Witness to one’s thoughts.
When one is able to note the thoughts, it is the Activity of the Mind and not of Brain.
Brain is what is and Mind is what it is about.
Brain is like a CPU for receiving stimuli and the information thus collected is recognised and catalogued by the Mind.
The activity of the Brain is Mind.
Again when we talk of Mind we are Conscious of it.
So it is different from Mind as well.
That is Intellect.-Activity of the Mind.
Even intellect is directed and that is Consciousness or ‘chitta’
That is Consciousness, the other attributes of Being are Existence, and Bliss.
The goal of Life is to return to That original state of Being,Consciousness and Bliss.
This is the message of Indian Philosophy.

Story:

Neural Correlates Of Consciousness

Neural Correlates Of Consciousness (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

“As I practiced the self-witnessing discipline for more than three decades I’m able to say various things about it that may be useful to others (see Note 20 at end). My most amazing discovery was the existence of “sudden memory” by which I’m referring to the stream of thought that is our actual mental life in the natural mind. This stream of thought is the outward form of our affections (see Note 19 at end). The quality of our affections is the result of which spiritual societies we are in contact as the sequence of thoughts proceeds. Through self-witnessing practice I was striving to “tune in” to the stream while I was carrying out my tasks all day long. This is not like meditation or deep reflection which occurs when we stop our tasks and sit doing nothing, thus disengaged from the surrounding pace.

The stream of thinking accompanies every act and is a characteristic of human life. I was able to tune in and listen to some extent, I suppose, for the stream goes fast and if you try to catch it, it begins to tumble and roll like an avalanche. It’s as if the conscious filter can hold only so much of it and the rest spills and dissipates as more keeps coming.

What I found amazing is that the instant I tried to reflect on what I snatched form the stream, it would be gone. I could not remember what it was. It’s quite unsettling. How do I get hold of it or some of it long enough so I can examine in greater detail? You may be familiar with this experience when, upon awakening, you are still affectively filled the sphere of your vivid dream, but the instant you try to reflect on what it is so you can put it in words, it remains unavailable to the conscious mind, staying just out of its reach—like the “tip-of-the-tongue” phenomenon researched in psycholinguistics when I was in graduate school in the 1960s. We were taught that there are two types of memory: short term and long term. The first lasts for several seconds—like the phone number we look up and then dial. If we wait more than a few seconds to dial we have to look it up again. We move things from short term to long term memory by repetition and rehearsal with the motive to recall it later. Sudden memory seems to work for a second or two.

I discovered that I can make myself think in words or sentences as I carry out my tasks. This is somewhat like giving a “blow by blow” description to an imaginary tape recorder of what one is thinking. It seems to slow the stream down for awhile, enough so that my short term memory retains more of it and I’m able to get a fix on what the topic is and its direction. In short term memory we can be aware and evaluative, and put anything we want into long term memory by mentally rehearsing or making a physical record of it. In this way the mental discipline pays off because it gives access to our normal everyday affections.

Slowly I began to exert rational and religious control over my interior dialog, my daydreams, and my emotional reactions to things moment by moment all day long. Also, my attitudes and interests. I would stop myself from continuing a line of thinking: “Stop it. Why are you wasting time thinking these useless things?” Or: “That’s not a nice thing to think.” Or: “How low can I get to be so fascinated by that sort of thing?” Etc. This gave me greater conscious control over my mental life allowing me to clean out the mental pollution that reigned in it from birth and culture. It is not possible for humans to do anything without the accompanying thinking stream. By controlling this, we control a portion of our natural mind. Control of the lower natural mind (corporeal and sensual) by the higher natural mind (natural-rational) is necessary for regeneration. To the extent that we do this, to that extent the Lord can open our interior-natural mind (DLW 248).

http://trudon22.wordpress.com/2012/03/31/a-mans-mind-is-his-spirit/#comment-14

  1. i love to be a member of this noble organisation,i’m really inspired by your daily blog. Love you largeeeeeeeeeee

    Like

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,868 other followers

