Ramani’s blog for Versatile Blogger

In Blogging on August 30, 2014 at 19:20

Ramani’s blog has been nominated for Versatile Blogger Award.

I started blogging in August 19,2009, has completed five years of blogging.

Versatile Blogger Award.jpg

Versatile Blogger Award.

It has been a journey of joy sharing what little I know,getting information from people who know more and most importantly picking up some good friends in the process,from US to Australia, not to mention people from India.

It is really a pleasure to know that majority of the readers belong to the Age group of 25-40, breaking  the commonly held belief that the younger generation do not read serious stuff, especially relating to Religion and Philosophy.

And the questions I get from my readers have enriched in terms of  research into the subject and making me richer in knowledge.

A word about more blogs on Hinduism and Philosophy.

As I wrote earlier in one of my Pages, I was merely interested in sharing what I thought was worth sharing.

As readers were/are interested in them, I felt it to be my duty to write on subjects my readers are interested in.

So I started writing more on Hinduism and Philosophy.

To my surprise I seem to know some thing about these subjects and enjoy writing on them.

However I shall continue writing on other topics as well.

Now to Versatile Blogger Award nomination.

Ramani’s blog has been nominated for he Versatile Blogger Award by Amaruvi’s Aphorism.

Thank you for nominating.

The Rules:

  • Thank the blogger who nominates you publicly in the post and by linking back to  his/her blog.
  • Display the image of the award on your blog.
  • Share 7 interesting facts about yourself.
  • Nominate a minimum of 5 bloggers for the award and notify them  on their “about” page or another page of their blog.

I nominate the following blogs for Versatile Blogger Award.














Though I have nothing much to say about myself, as I am to list some facts ,I am stating them.

( I tell my children that I have nothing to speak or write about me after my death, excepting that Born On.. and Died On, for both of which I am not responsible)

Reading anything, print or web.

Lave of Tamil, Sanskrit and English.

Interested in Shakespeare,Wordsworth,Byron, Shelley,Classical Tamil,Sanskrit, Kannadasan Jayakanthan,Sujatha.

Interested in Philosophy, Hinduism,Paranormal, Vedas.

Higher Physics.

Incidentally Ramani’s blog Hits as on 30 August,2014, is 2.49 millions.

Number of Posts 6848.

Categories, 120

Followers 2866

Vayu In Universe Body and Life Sadhana

In Hinduism on August 30, 2014 at 08:37

The Universe, according to Hinduism,is made of the Five Elements,Earth, Water, Fire, Air Ether.


Prithvi,Appu,Agni, Vayu and Aakasa.


Vayu, on his mount, the gazelle symbolizing swiftness
Devanagari वायु
Sanskrit Transliteration Vāyu
Affiliation Deva, Guardians of the directions
Mantra Om Vayuve namaha
Mount Gazelle


When these remain together the Universe gets dissolved and remains dormant.


During Pralaya, Dissolution these elements get withdrawn and remain separate.


When they get together the Creation takes place.


These five elements are in our body.


In Tantra Sastra of Devi, these elements are managed to Realize God or Self.


How each element s placed in our body will be detailed in another article.


We shall see the function and nature of Vayu in our Body.


Whatever Philosophy talks about or trying to find out is what ‘Life’ is.


The body we have  functions because of breathing; once the breath leaves never to return, it becomes dead.


How and why the Vayu or Air remains in the body with Nine outlets is a mystery.


As creation takes place the elements enter the gross body (without Life) which is made of Earth, Prithvi.


The Fire, Agni, together with Vayu helps the body remain warm and become Live.


Vayu settles in three forms.


It functions as three zones.


Vadha-It helps the body in its Ten  functions.


Five are primary .


Prana-vayu is the most dominant air because it is this air only which ceases the function of the body in the end and departs.

The second vital air is apana which is in the region spanning the genitalia to the thorax.

Its function is to regulate the excretory process by causing digested food particles to descend and create pressure on the bladder for micturition and colon for excretion of faeces.

Vyana air circulates throughout the body and a slight tilt in its balance causes disease.

Udana air travels between the region of thorax and pharynx. If it attains imbalance then the vital organs of the body is affected with disease.

Samana air is in the navel region and its function is to maintain the body mass in position.


Five are secondary.


They are,


Naga air causes the action of belching;

Kurma air controls the function of batting of eyelids;

Krikara air regulates the function of sneezing;

Devadatta air produces yawn when the body is depleted with oxygen and

Dhananjaya air occasions the grave internal Pranayama sound.


2.Pitha,Vayus here help in Digestion.

For details see my Post Digestion, Hinduism.


3.Kapa.These Vayus help in discharging the refuse in the body.


These three functions are represented by the Trimurthis.


Brahma- Vadha-Blood Circulation.


Vishnu-Heat-Note that Vishnu reclines in Water and the Garland He has is of Tulasi which is heat generating.


Rudra-Kapa-Death, Destruction-cold-Shiva resides in Smashana, which is Hot and his garland or the leaves which is used for His worship is Bilva is Cold in its property.


These three zones do not remain in balance.


The struggle for existence, therefore , continues.


Once they are kept in balance one can reach Eternal Life.


The Siddhas have mastered this.


Of the Deities Ganesha and Hanuman are masters of this and are the important deities to worship in this Sadhana.


Thanksgiving Rishi Panchami

In Hinduism on August 29, 2014 at 23:08

India is land of Rishis, Seers who were not only the people with a deep bent of spirituality but also social reformers and Law givers.

There are seven great Rishis though there are many more,

These are called Saptha Rishis (Seven Rishis).

These seven for the present Kali Yuga are,

Atri, Bhrigu,Kuthsa,Vasihsta,Gauthama,Kasyapa and Angirasa.

They are represented in the Great bear Constellation.

Please read my post Rishis a Timeline.

They have given great mantras for the society and set standards of behavior , selfless in their discharging their duties with a fair sense of Justice.

To commemorate their memory Rishi Panchami is celebrated.

Rishi Panchami.jpg.

Rishi Panhami Celebration.

This falls on the next day after Ganesh Chaturthi every year on Panchami.

This day is devoted vrata , Vow.

Women visit river or any water storage in the afternoon, take cow dung with them, clean their teeth with medicinal herbal stick, take cold-water bath.

They arrange the idol of Saptarshi on small wooden platform in the form of seven betenuts and perform pooja.

On this day they should eat only those fruits, which grow below the earth (soil) and strictly avoid eating any eatables, which are prepared from the grains grown from the toiling of bullocks.

‘Aghada’ is one such plant, which has many medicinal uses.

This is grown in Ashadha and Shravana months.

In Bhadrapada it becomes full-fledged and its medicinal instincts are prominently noticed in the same month.

The Jains regard this a very important day.

Among them, the followers of Shwetambar cult end their Parjushan Maha Parva on this day and the others following Digambar cult, start their Maha Parva from this day.

‘Rhushabhadeva’ was the first and the most sacred Teerthankar as per the Jains.

He is known as Aadinath also. ‘Rishi Panchami’ day is observed in the name of this Aadinath. The motive of such observance between the Hindus and the Jains is the same.


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,867 other followers

%d bloggers like this: